Big late June update

Sorry for late update, lately I’ve been pretty busy. This is a summary of last few weeks and our city visits before the camps started.

Ostrava

I was looking for this visit, because I have been doing camp with Ostrava CB church already last year. First evening we’ve got invited for a dinner at Jirka and Nicole’s place. Jirka is a vicar and one of the camp leaders. There were really hospitable and we had a great time. We’ve met the whole team there. I was glad I had a chance to catch up with old friends. Thursday and Friday mornings we’ve been doing school visits. It was a great time we got to visit around 15 classes of middleschoolers and invite them for camp. It’s always my favorite time. We played fun games, did a presentation about USA, they had a chance to ask us questions and get to know us. I pretended to be a from Texas and it was hilarious to see all those surprised faces, when I fluently switched to Czech in the end of a class. Friday evening we had a US party for the youth group and it was great seeing some kids from school coming over. We cooked american pancakes. I tried pancake with strawberries, scrambled eggs and maple syrup, strange combination I know, but it was surprisingly delicious. Then we played frisbee and slacklined with kids. I enjoyed getting to know them and I hoped we would see some of them at camp.
During Saturday we just hung out with Czech team, did some team bonding activities and went to play laser tag. It was really fun, little bit tense, since we are really competitive, but I won both games, so I was happy with my performance   ^_^. I really enjoyed the visit, getting to know the Czech team better, they are great bunch of people, eager to share Christ and his Love. I couldn’t wait for the camp to start.

Olomouc

The following week we spent in Olomouc. We are paring up with team Vee-Dubs (Andrew, Alyssa, Jenna and Petra) for this camp. Andrew is my really good friend from last summer and I am really glad we finally got to do camp together. People from the local baptist church with whom we’re doing this camp are really nice. They are partnering with Josiah Venture and KAM for the first time even though they have done some English Camps in the past. I was staying with Tomáš, one of the youth leaders, he such a great and hospitable guy, with passion for Jesus. We got along really well and hangout quite a lot.
One morning we were handing out flyers in front of schools. For two days we did school visits again, I enjoyed them a lot we are praying for this visits to bring students to the camp. In class I had to pretend that I am a bull and some student was supposed to ride me. Amy figured that its a best way of describing students what is Rodeo in Texas. 🙂 We did a outdoor English Club in park, where we invited students from school and friends we wanted to come and taste little bit of camp. Next day we visited a youth group. We had a great time getting to know the young people who we are going to serve with at the camp. It’s a young and excited team, who wants to share Christ. Equipping young leaders so that they can fulfill Christ’s commission through the local church is JV mission goal. So we are glad, we had to be part of this.

Kyjov/Bohumilice

This was our third and last city visit. Justin and Brooke were on their camp last year, so it wasn’t and unfamiliar environment for them. My and Amy felt like a home after few hours as well. First two days of the visit we spent in Bohumilice and surrounding villages. The people from local church who took care of us are really nice, welcoming and hospitable. I never felt hungry or unwelcomed on any of these visits. Me and Justin stayed with Pavel and his family. They basically live on a farm with cows, pigs, chicken and ton of rabbits. I got to taste a fresh cow milk, learned everything about breeding rabbits and other stuff. Next two days we spent in Kyjov, with the local CB church. I was staying with Michal – young man from Kyjov youth group, and his family for the night and again it was a great time, his dad is a coffee freak and loves coffee and old coffee machines, which he also repairs. So I got to taste a delicious coffee and learn almost everything there is about coffee making. Only consequence was that I couldn’t fall asleep that night. In both Bohumilice and Kyjov we did lot of school visits inviting students for camp. Praying and hoping for more students to sign up. So you can pray with us.
I love getting to know new people and building relationships and here I again had a lot of opportunities to do that. It’s always one of my favorite things to do on internship. The Czech team is really great, full of people who follow Christ and want to share Gospel. So I can’t wait for this camp to start.

So this is a short summary of what we did for the better part of June. Update about first term camp in Ostrava will follow soon.

Please keep praying for the camps, so that the Gospel can be boldly proclaim, for the students to have open hearts to listen, for my team to have energy and unity and can work with God honoring excellence.

God Bless you,

Daniel

Team Lenhardt with Michael and Lukas in front of Ostrava worm.

Team Lenhardt with Michael and Lukas in front of Ostrava worm.

10247341_295691170608375_8061128036623945026_n

Laser tag with the Ostava team.

CAM00438

Having nice dinner in Olomouc – Team Lenhardt, Vee-Dubs and Olomouc youth group.

CAM00591

Playing Ninja tag on top of church tower in Olomouc.

10313505_10204149841645588_5155427294627265628_n

Us with people from Bohumilice. Beautiful people, beautiful country.

 

CAM00711

Brooke is talking about life in US with some Czech students during our Kyjov/Bohumilice city visit.

 

Leave a comment